When the switch to digital television happened, Jack and I decided to sit it out. We did not get cable nor one of those converter boxes. Thus, one day every channel was snow. It was a bit disarming, but also freeing and exhilarating. It impacted our lives in several positive ways.
For example, we noticed that people discuss commercials quite a bit. When they attempt to include me in one of these discussion, I feel a smug pride in uttering those shocking words, "I don't have television." They generally stare and stammer, "Ohhhh really??". "What do you do?" they ask. Some people just look at me and I know they are thinking, "How odd." Some people sort of wink and say, "Hey, good for you." Anyway, I don't miss those commericals at all. Now when I do happen to watch real, old-fashioned television, it's like an onslaught of them trying to make up for lost one on one time with me. I try to avoid them by changing channels, but they seem to know that tactic and thwart me. They are so loud and bossy. They really missed me. It's almost touching how much those companies care about me and want me to be happy and reach my full potential.
The cable company really, really wants to be my friend though. They are regular and punctual with their phone calls and mailings. Next thing you know they'll be sending me a singing telegram or an edible arrangement. I'm thinking of going into the cable protection program.
i hear you - commercials make me want to die inside. we didn't have a tv or cable for a while, and it was awesome. when we caved and got a tv a few months ago (my flimsy excuse was that I needed to watch the winter olympics while recuperating from surgery) we passed on subscribing to cable, so we mostly just use it to watch netflix shows - in large part to avoid being assaulted by commercials...
ReplyDelete